FREE standard shipping on orders over $25

Nutrafol is the supplement most women over 45 try first, and for a lot of them it’s the one they’re looking to replace a year later: eighty-eight dollars a month, four capsules a day, and a money-back guarantee that turns out to require six bottles on subscription and their app on your phone. This page covers the alternatives honestly — eight other supplements, including the one UluRx makes, ranked on what’s on the label, what it costs, and what’s been published — and then says plainly when a supplement is no longer the right tool and what the next step is. UluRx wrote it, sells one of the supplements, and is the pharmacy for the prescription step, so read it knowing that. We’ve tried to make the other rows as useful as ours.

Why women over 45 look for a Nutrafol alternative

Nutrafol Women’s Balance is a competent product with a real study behind it, and both of those sentences need a second half.

The study is small and Nutrafol paid for it. The 2021 trial in the Journal of Drugs in Dermatology randomized 70 peri- and postmenopausal women — 40 on Nutrafol, 30 on placebo — for six months and found more terminal hairs on phototrichogram at day 90 and 180. It was funded by Nutrafol, one author is Nutrafol’s co-founder, and it excluded women with a diagnosed hair loss condition. A 2023 class action in New York (Sheehan v. Nutraceutical Wellness) challenged the “clinically proven” claim on those grounds; its current status isn’t public.

The doses aren’t published. Nutrafol lists its actives — saw palmetto, ashwagandha, marine collagen, tocotrienols, curcumin, astaxanthin, and the rest — as proprietary blends with a total weight. There is no milligram figure for any single botanical anywhere on the label or the site.

The guarantee isn’t what it sounds like. The “Real Growth Guarantee” refunds you after six months only if you bought six bottles through a subscription within 180 days, took four capsules a day, and downloaded the myNutrafol app within 30 days of your first order. That is a $422 commitment to qualify.

It isn’t a multivitamin. Women’s Balance covers vitamins A, C, D3, E, biotin, iodine, zinc, and selenium, and stops there — no B-complex, no iron, no magnesium, no copper. That matters more than it sounds, for a reason that has nothing to do with Nutrafol.

The part most hair supplements skip: your body feeds the vital organs first

Think of your body as a household on a tight budget. The heart, lungs, and brain are the rent — they get paid first, every time, no matter what. Hair, skin, and nails are the nice-to-haves. When the nutrient budget is short, hair is the first bill that doesn’t get paid; when the budget is fully covered, hair gets what’s left over.

That isn’t a marketing idea. Biochemist Bruce Ames described it in PNAS in 2006 as “triage theory”: when micronutrients run short, the body allocates them to the functions that keep you alive now and shortchanges the ones that only matter long-term. Dermatology sees the downstream effect constantly — the hair follicle is one of the fastest-dividing tissues in the body and one of the most expendable, which is why shortfalls in iron, zinc, vitamin D, and protein show up as shedding months before they show up anywhere else.

The practical consequence for a woman over 45: a hair supplement that hands the follicle a specialty blend without covering the baseline nutrients is paying the nice-to-have while the rent is short. Whatever you choose from the table below, check first whether it’s a complete multivitamin or a topper — and if it’s a topper, whether you’re already taking a good one.

Nutrafol alternatives at a glance (women over 45)

Nutrafol is the first row so everything else reads against it. “Doses published” means per-ingredient amounts on the label, not blend totals.

Product What it is Daily dose Doses published? Price Refund / commitment Published evidence
Nutrafol Women’s Balance (the baseline) Botanical hair supplement for women 45+ 4 capsules Vitamins yes; botanicals no (proprietary blends) $88 one-time; $79/mo subscribed; $422 for 6 months Refund only after 6 subscription bottles + app 2021 RCT, n=70, 6 months, company-funded
Ulu Ultimate Daily Supplement (UluRx — ours) Complete multivitamin plus four hair, hormone-support, and antioxidant blends — 40+ ingredients, built to replace five bottles 6 capsules (3 twice a day) Every vitamin and mineral yes; the four blends listed by total weight, like Nutrafol $59.99 one-time (30-day); $169.99 for 3 Third-party tested; certificate of analysis on request; no subscription required None. We chose to spend on third-party testing of what’s in the bottle, not a self-funded trial
Wellbel Women Botanical hair supplement 3 capsules Biotin yes; blend no $72 one-time; $61.20/mo subscribed 90-day full refund None (internal survey, n=192)
Viviscal Women Marine-protein hair supplement 2 tablets Yes (AminoMar 1,072 mg, biotin 240 mcg, iron 20 mg, zinc 22 mg, etc.) $40 one-time Not stated on product page Claims “10 clinical trials” of AminoMar; none detailed on the page
Hair La Vie Clinical Formula Botanical hair supplement 3 capsules Biotin (5,000 mcg) yes; blend no $59 one-time 365-day money back None for the product
HUM Hair Strong Biotin gummy Gummies No $27; 20% off subscribed Not stated Self-reported survey only
Vegamour GRO Biotin Gummies Biotin gummy 1 gummy No $25 30-day; cancel 5 business days before renewal None
Hairfinity Healthy Hair Vitamins Biotin-forward supplement 2 capsules Yes (biotin 2,500 mcg, A, D, B12, MSM blend) $27.99; 15% off subscribed 30-day None
Plain biotin (OLLY, Nature’s Bounty 10,000 mcg) Single-ingredient baseline 1–2 Yes $10–14 Retail Biotin did not make the evidence list in the 2023 JAMA Dermatology review

Prices, doses, and refund terms from each company’s own product or FAQ page, September 8, 2026; Ulu Ultimate from its current Supplement Facts label. Supplements are not FDA-approved to treat hair loss; none on this list, ours included, can promise regrowth.

What the evidence actually says about hair supplements

In 2023, JAMA Dermatology published a systematic review of nutritional supplements for hair loss — 30 studies, 17 of them randomized, out of more than 6,000 screened. The authors found the highest-quality evidence of benefit for a handful of products and ingredients (Viviscal, Nutrafol, Nourkrin, Pantogar, zinc, tocotrienols, pumpkin seed oil, omega-3/6 with antioxidants), and then said the part the supplement industry doesn’t quote: the studies are heterogeneous, largely industry-sponsored, and have no active comparators, and the lead author told Dermatology Times that many “would show no improvement over placebo if meticulous studies were conducted.” Biotin, the ingredient in nearly every hair gummy, was not among the supplements with evidence of benefit — unless you’re actually deficient, which is rare. The American Academy of Dermatology adds that too much selenium, vitamin A, or vitamin E has itself been linked to hair loss, and recommends testing for a deficiency before supplementing.

Saw palmetto, the botanical anti-androgen Nutrafol and others lean on, has one two-year comparison against finasteride — in men — where roughly 38% improved on saw palmetto versus roughly 68% on finasteride 1 mg. There is no randomized trial of saw palmetto for hair loss in women. Ashwagandha has no hair-loss trial as a standalone agent.

None of that means supplements are useless for hair. It means the honest job of a hair supplement is to make sure the nutrient budget is covered, and the honest way to sell one is to print what’s in it.

Ulu Ultimate: the multivitamin-first alternative

Ulu Ultimate is UluRx’s supplement, and it’s built on the household-budget logic above. The first thing on the label is a complete multivitamin with every dose printed: vitamin A 2,500 IU, C 120 mg, D3 1,000 IU, E 30 IU, the full B-complex including biotin 3,000 mcg and B12 27 mcg, and the minerals Nutrafol leaves out — iron 10 mg, magnesium 50 mg, copper 2 mg, manganese, chromium, molybdenum — alongside zinc 25 mg, selenium 200 mcg, and iodine 225 mcg. Then four blends on top, more than 40 ingredients in all: a 200 mg hormone-support blend (labeled “Female Support Blend” on the current bottle, though plenty of men take it) of wild yam, red clover, cranberry, alpha-lipoic acid, grapeseed, black currant, and pomegranate — botanicals, not drugs; a 200 mg Antioxidant & Energy Blend (green tea, hawthorn, cinnamon, bilberry); a 1,350 mg hair formula (marine collagen types I and III, ashwagandha standardized to 5% withanolides, saw palmetto standardized to 40% fatty acids, turmeric standardized to 95% curcuminoids, hyaluronic acid); and a 922 mg keratin-and-amino-acid formula (L-cysteine, L-lysine, hydrolyzed keratin peptide, marine cartilage, oyster extract, resveratrol 50%, bamboo silica 70%, Bioperine for absorption).

Price: $59.99 for a 30-day bottle, $169.99 for three. No subscription required.
Dose: six capsules a day, three in the morning and three at night with food. That’s more than Nutrafol’s four, and it’s the point: six capsules replace the basket most women over 45 are already carrying — a multivitamin, a hormone-support botanical, an antioxidant, a biotin, and a keratin or collagen. Founder Melanie Elaine’s pitch is literally a basket of five bottles held up next to one: “You can take this, or you can take ours.”
What’s disclosed: every vitamin and mineral dose, the standardization of the key botanicals (5% withanolides, 40% fatty acids, 95% curcuminoids), and the total weight of each blend. The individual botanical amounts inside the blends are proprietary, same as Nutrafol’s. We’re saying that plainly rather than pretending otherwise.
Testing: third-party tested, with a certificate of analysis available on request. Contains fish and shellfish.
Evidence: no clinical trial. UluRx had one funded and scheduled in 2020; it didn’t survive COVID, and the company chose to put the money into third-party testing of what’s actually in the bottle instead. We’d rather tell you that than run a 40-person study and call the product “clinically proven.”
Where it falls short: six capsules is a commitment if you weren’t already taking anything. It contains iron, which is right for many women but not for a woman who’s been told to avoid it — check with your physician. And it’s a supplement: it covers the budget, it doesn’t rebuild a miniaturized follicle. If your thinning is past the “not enough nutrients” stage, no capsule on this page will fix it, ours included.

Wellbel Women

Wellbel is the closest thing to Nutrafol without the price: a saw palmetto, horsetail, MSM, and nettle blend with a light vitamin list (biotin 500 mcg; A, folate, B12, D3, selenium without published amounts) for $72, or $61.20 a month subscribed. Its 90-day full refund is the simplest on this page. No trial; the company cites an internal survey of 192 users. Best if you want the Nutrafol concept, a real refund window, and don’t need a multivitamin underneath.

Viviscal Women

Viviscal is the old-timer, built around AminoMar, a marine protein complex, at a published 1,072 mg with biotin 240 mcg, iron 20 mg, zinc 22 mg, vitamin C, niacin, horsetail, and millet. Two tablets a day, $40. It has more published research history than anything else here — the JAMA review listed it among the products with the best evidence — though Viviscal’s own page says “10 clinical trials” without detailing them. Best if you want the most-studied supplement at the lowest price and are fine with a marine-protein approach. Note the 20 mg of iron.

Hair La Vie Clinical Formula

Biotin 5,000 mcg plus saw palmetto (USPlus), tocotrienols (TocoGaia), reishi, collagen, zinc, D3, selenium, amla, flax, and bamboo silica, $59, with a 365-day money-back guarantee — the longest on the list. Botanical doses not published; no trial on the finished product. Best if a long refund window matters more to you than disclosed doses.

The gummies: HUM Hair Strong, Vegamour GRO, Hairfinity

HUM ($27), Vegamour GRO Biotin Gummies ($25), and Hairfinity ($27.99) are biotin-forward products with vitamin lists and, in HUM’s and Vegamour’s case, no published doses at all. They are pleasant, inexpensive, and — per the JAMA review — built around the one hair ingredient with the weakest evidence in people who aren’t deficient. Best if you like gummies and your doctor has told you your biotin is low.

Plain biotin

A $12 bottle of Nature’s Bounty or OLLY does what the gummies do at a third of the price. Same caveat: unless you’re deficient, the evidence isn’t there.

When supplements aren’t the answer anymore

Here is the honest test. If you’ve taken a complete supplement for six months, your iron, vitamin D, and thyroid have been checked, and your part is still widening, you are past the nutrient-budget problem. After 45, estrogen falls, the androgen balance shifts, and the follicle’s growth phase shortens; that’s a hormonal and follicular problem, and no capsule addresses it. The 2024 Spanish Hair Disorders Society consensus put the next step plainly: for postmenopausal women, minoxidil combined with a 5-alpha-reductase inhibitor (finasteride or dutasteride) “was considered the most effective option.”

The prescription options, in rough order of how women encounter them:

Low-dose oral minoxidil, typically 0.5 to 2.5 mg a day for women, off-label, from a dermatologist or telehealth (Hers from $29 a month; Ro $30 a month quarterly). The largest safety series (1,404 patients, JAAD 2021) found unwanted facial or body hair in about 15%, with 0.5% stopping because of it.

Spironolactone, an oral anti-androgen at roughly 25–200 mg a day, off-label, mostly for women who are still menstruating; available from dermatologists and some telehealth companies.

Topical finasteride or dutasteride with minoxidil, for women past childbearing. Happy Head sells fixed formulas (from about $63 a month subscribed); Musely sells a doctor-selected pill or topical ($32–$33 a month as a three-month supply, or $136–$141 once).

A formula compounded for you. UluRx is a LegitScript-certified compounding pharmacy in Phoenix that builds prescription hair growth formulas per patient for women 45 and over whose minoxidil, Nutrafol, or Hers didn’t deliver. A U.S.-licensed physician reviews your questionnaire; one of three licensed pharmacists compounds the formula from minoxidil, finasteride (post-menopause only), tretinoin, and other actives, with latanoprost at 0.05% or 0.10% in the Hair Bomb tiers. Every formula is made in one of three bases — dry, oily, or normal scalp — chosen from your questionnaire. $99.99 for the base serum, $199.99 and $299.99 with latanoprost, per 60 mL bottle; no subscription required. If the bottle you receive doesn’t match the preferences you wrote on your questionnaire, we remake it within 30 days. That covers our work, not results; no pharmacy can promise regrowth from a questionnaire, and we won’t. The full comparison against Hers, Happy Head, Musely, and Ro — formulas, price per mL, commitment terms — is here.

How to choose

Want the Nutrafol idea at a lower price with a real refund window: Wellbel. Want the most-studied supplement at the lowest price: Viviscal. Want a complete multivitamin underneath the hair blends so the baseline is covered, with every vitamin dose on the label and a certificate of analysis: Ulu Ultimate. Want cheap and pleasant and your biotin is actually low: a gummy or plain biotin. Six months in with labs checked and still thinning: stop buying supplements and see the prescription section — a dermatologist, a telehealth company, or UluRx.

How we evaluated

We compared the supplements women over 45 are most often pointed to when Nutrafol didn’t deliver, on what a label can prove: whether per-ingredient doses are published, what the daily dose is, the real one-time and subscription price, the refund terms as written, and what has been published in a peer-reviewed journal. Every figure was taken from the company’s own product, FAQ, or label on September 8, 2026, or from the cited journal; where a company doesn’t publish a dose, we said so. Evidence claims come from the 2023 JAMA Dermatology systematic review, the 2021 Nutrafol trial, the AAD, and the 2024 Spanish consensus. UluRx wrote this page and sells Ulu Ultimate and the prescription formulas described in the last section.

Frequently asked questions

What’s the best Nutrafol alternative for women over 45?
It depends on what didn’t work. For the same idea cheaper with a 90-day refund, Wellbel. For the most-studied option at $40, Viviscal. For a complete multivitamin with hair, hormone-support, and antioxidant blends on top and every vitamin dose printed, Ulu Ultimate. If Nutrafol didn’t work after six months and your labs are normal, the honest answer is probably not another supplement.

Is Nutrafol’s guarantee real?
Yes, with conditions: you must buy six bottles through a subscription within 180 days, take four capsules a day, and download the myNutrafol app within 30 days of your first order. That’s about $422 to qualify.

Does Ulu Ultimate have a clinical trial?
No. UluRx funded one in 2020 and COVID ended it; the company put the money into third-party testing and a certificate of analysis instead. Nutrafol’s trial randomized 70 women and was funded by Nutrafol.

Why does Ulu Ultimate have a full multivitamin when Nutrafol doesn’t?
Because the body prioritizes vital organs for nutrients and funds hair last. A hair blend on top of a nutrient shortfall is paying the nice-to-have while the rent is short. Ulu Ultimate covers the baseline first — including iron, magnesium, copper, and the full B-complex, which Nutrafol omits — and adds the blends after, so one bottle replaces the multivitamin, hormone-support, antioxidant, biotin, and keratin bottles most women are already buying separately.

Does biotin help hair growth?
Only if you’re deficient, which is uncommon. The 2023 JAMA Dermatology review did not find biotin among supplements with evidence of benefit for hair loss.

Are the botanical doses in Ulu Ultimate published?
The vitamins and minerals are all published. The four blends are listed by total weight with the standardization of key botanicals (ashwagandha 5% withanolides, saw palmetto 40% fatty acids, turmeric 95% curcuminoids); the individual amounts inside each blend are proprietary, as they are at Nutrafol.

When should I stop taking supplements and get a prescription?
If you’ve taken a complete supplement for six months, had iron, vitamin D, and thyroid checked, and your part is still widening. After 45 the problem is usually hormonal and follicular, not nutritional, and the consensus treatment is minoxidil plus an anti-androgen — from a dermatologist, a telehealth company, or a compounding pharmacy like UluRx.

Does UluRx guarantee results?
No, and no one on this page does. UluRx guarantees its work: if a prescription formula doesn’t match the preferences you wrote on your questionnaire, it’s reformulated free within 30 days of delivery. Preferences, not a recipe; the prescribing physician has final approval.