If you’re over 45 and your minoxidil, Nutrafol, or drugstore serum didn’t give you enough back, you’ve probably typed one of these five names into a search bar. All five sell prescription hair growth treatment to women online. They are not the same product at different prices — they differ in who prescribes it, who actually makes it, whether anyone can change it for you, and what you’re committing to when you buy. Short version: Hers or Ro if you want the cheapest way to try prescription minoxidil and don’t mind a prepaid subscription; Happy Head or Musely if you want a stronger fixed formula at a mid price; UluRx if you’ve already been through those and want a formula built for you by a pharmacist, with a doctor reviewing your case and no subscription required.
Side-by-side: prescription hair growth for women 45+
| Company | Best for | The women 45+ formula | Starting price | Who makes it | Can the formula be changed for you? | Commitment and guarantee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UluRx | Women 45+ who already tried minoxidil, Nutrafol, or Hers and didn’t get enough regrowth | Three tiers, each built per patient with minoxidil, finasteride, tretinoin and other actives chosen for her case: the base serum without latanoprost; the Hair Bomb with latanoprost 0.05%; the Hair Bomb with latanoprost 0.10% Three bases for dry, oily, or normal scalp | $99.99 (base serum, no latanoprost) · $199.99 (latanoprost 0.05%) · $299.99 (latanoprost 0.10%) per bottle; buy once or subscribe | UluRx’s own LegitScript-certified compounding pharmacy in Phoenix; licensed pharmacists James Fox, Gary Friedman, Ray Rabadi | Yes — strengths, ingredients, and add-ins set per patient; text CONSULT to (602) 315-1530 | No subscription or multi-month commitment. If the formula doesn’t match the preferences on your questionnaire, it’s reformulated free within 30 days. |
| Hers | Women who want the cheapest prescription minoxidil with an app | Hair Blends Postmeno Serum: finasteride + minoxidil spray (percentages not published on forhers.com) | “Starting at $35/mo” (floor price tied to a 6-month subscription) | Hims & Hers–owned pharmacies (XeCare, Ohio; MedisourceRx) | No — choose among preset blends; no per-patient strength changes | Subscription; lowest price requires 6 months prepaid. “No refunds for partially used subscription periods.” |
| Happy Head | Women 50+ who want a strong fixed topical and a dermatologist to message | Women 50+ topical: finasteride 0.3% + minoxidil 8% (+ retinoic acid, hydrocortisone); dutasteride 0.3% + minoxidil 8% option; latanoprost formula is 0.005% | $59–$119/mo (Happy Head’s published range); exact price per formula appears at checkout; 20% off refills on subscription | Partner pharmacies named in their terms: Curexa, Chemistry Rx | Partly — dermatologist can adjust concentrations by message; choose from fixed SKUs | Monthly subscription, ships every 25–27 days; cancel 3+ days before billing. “6-month guarantee” refunds your most recent month’s supply only. |
| Musely | Women who want a $32/mo once-a-day pill with a first-order guarantee | “Bloom” pill: minoxidil 1 mg + dutasteride 0.4 mg (prescribed to women over 45); Classic topical: minoxidil 8% + dutasteride 0.3% + tretinoin + spironolactone + ketoconazole | $32/mo (pill) or $33/mo (topical), billed as a 3-month supply, plus a $20 doctor-visit fee | Musely’s own compounding pharmacies (Utah, Georgia) plus partners | Limited — fixed named formulas; ingredients can be dropped, strengths are not tuned; $10 fee to request a new prescription | 3-month billing. 100% refund on the first order if you use it 60 days and complete the app check-ups; refills excluded. |
| Ro | Women who want generic oral minoxidil at the lowest price | Women’s Oral Minoxidil (dose not published) or Hair Solution Rx topical: minoxidil + tretinoin + melatonin (strengths not published) | $30/mo (oral) or $40/mo (topical), quarterly prepay | Roman Health Pharmacy or unnamed partner pharmacies | No stated formula changes; oral dose adjusted by half-pill or alternate days | Quarterly prepaid subscription. “All sales are final” — no refunds on prescription products. |
Prices checked on each company’s own pricing or product pages on September 7, 2026. Subscription “starting at” prices usually require prepaying 3–6 months; the one-time price is higher. Compounded formulas are prescribed off-label and are not FDA-approved finished drugs — that applies to UluRx, Hers Hair Blends, Happy Head, Musely, and Ro Hair Solution Rx alike. No company on this list can guarantee regrowth.
What changes after 45, and why it changes the treatment
After menopause, estrogen falls and the balance shifts toward androgens, so follicles that were fine at 35 start miniaturizing — a widening part, a thinner ponytail, more scalp at the crown. Two things follow for treatment. First, the anti-androgens that are off the table for women who could become pregnant — finasteride and dutasteride — become options after menopause, which is why Happy Head labels those products “Women 50+” and Musely routes women over 45 to its dutasteride pill. Second, standard-dose minoxidil alone often isn’t enough anymore, which is why every company on this list sells a combination, not plain minoxidil.
So the questions worth asking a company are not “is it prescription?” (they all are) but: Does the formula include a post-menopause anti-androgen? Who decides the strengths — a doctor looking at your case, or a product menu? Who compounds it, and can you name them? And what are you locked into when you click buy?
How much serum are you actually buying? Bottle size, price per mL, and dosing
A “per month” price only means something if you know how much is in the bottle, and most of these companies don’t say. Price per mL needs no assumptions — just the label and the price — so that’s the number to compare. Where a company doesn’t publish a bottle size, the cell is blank on purpose.
| Company | Bottle | Price | Price per mL | Directed use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UluRx — base serum, no latanoprost | 60 mL | $99.99 | $1.67 | 1 mL twice a day for the first 90 days, then once a day if you choose; about 60 applications per bottle |
| UluRx — Hair Bomb, latanoprost 0.05% | 60 mL | $199.99 | $3.33 | same |
| UluRx — Hair Bomb, latanoprost 0.10% | 60 mL | $299.99 | $5.00 | same |
| Happy Head — Topical Rx | 50 mL on the label (FAQ says 60 mL) | $59–$119 per bottle | $1.18–$2.38 | 0.5 mL per side, twice a day, after a once-a-day first week |
| Musely — Classic topical | not on the product page; customers cite 60 mL | $99 billed as a 3-month supply | about $1.65 if 60 mL | 0.5–1 dropperful once a day, at night |
| Hers — Postmeno Serum | not published | “Starting at $35/mo” on a 6-month subscription | can’t be calculated | spray; count not stated; sibling Hair Blends page says once a day |
| Ro — Hair Solution Rx | not published | $40/mo, quarterly | can’t be calculated | “daily use”; amount and frequency not stated |
Bottle sizes, prices, and directions from each company’s product page, FAQ, or help center, September 7–8, 2026. Per-mL figures are the listed price divided by the labeled volume.
Read the table two ways. Per mL, UluRx’s base serum sits inside Happy Head’s range and a penny above Musely — the difference between the companies at the entry tier is what’s in the mL, not how much you get. The latanoprost tiers cost more per mL than anything else on the list, and that’s the latanoprost: it’s the most expensive active in any of these bottles, UluRx uses it at ten to twenty times the concentration Happy Head does, and each formula is compounded per patient after a physician reviews her case. Two companies can’t be compared at all, because they sell a month without saying how many mL a month is.
The dosing schedules differ too, and that’s not an accident. UluRx directs twice a day for the first 90 days because hair on any scalp is in three phases at once — growing (anagen), transitioning (catagen), resting (telogen) — and the pharmacy wants the actives on the follicle through every phase while the formula is establishing itself. After 90 days, once a day is an option, at which point a bottle lasts about two months. A once-a-day product is cheaper per month partly because it’s asking less of the bottle.
How does Hers compare for women over 45?
Hers is the cheapest way to get a prescription finasteride-plus-minoxidil topical, and its Postmeno Serum is the only product on this list with “postmenopausal” in the name. The trade-off is that you’re choosing from a menu, not getting a formula built for you, and the advertised price is a six-month subscription.
Best for: women who want to try a prescription combination at the lowest price and are comfortable with an app-only relationship.
Price: “Starting at $35/mo” for the Postmeno Serum; Hers’ own comparison blog says the floor prices apply to a six-month subscription. Monthly-billed price isn’t shown until checkout.
Formula: finasteride + minoxidil spray. Hers does not publish the percentages on its site.
Who prescribes and makes it: independent affiliated medical groups prescribe; Hims & Hers–owned pharmacies in Ohio and Arizona fill.
Commitment and refunds: subscription. Terms say no refunds for partially used subscription periods; cancel at least 2 days before renewal.
Bottom line: a well-run, well-funded first stop. If a fixed finasteride-minoxidil spray is going to work for you, this is the cheapest place to find out. If it didn’t, you’ve learned something — and you’re the woman the rest of this page is about.
How does Happy Head compare for women over 45?
Happy Head has the most transparent formulas on this list — every strength is printed on the product page — and it’s the only competitor that offers dutasteride topically for women 50+. It’s a telehealth company, not a pharmacy: prescriptions are filled by partner pharmacies named in its terms.
Best for: women 50+ who want a strong, fully disclosed fixed topical and a dermatologist they can message.
Price: Happy Head publishes a range — “custom compounded prescription formulas range from $59 to $119 per month” — and shows the exact price for each formula only at checkout, with 20% off refills on subscription.
Formula: the Women 50+ standard is finasteride 0.3% + minoxidil 8% + retinoic acid + hydrocortisone. The latanoprost formula lists latanoprost at 0.005% — the same concentration as the glaucoma eye drop it’s derived from. UluRx’s Hair Bomb uses latanoprost at 0.05% or 0.10%, ten to twenty times that. (Concentration is a fact about the bottle, not a promise about results; the higher tier tends to show change sooner in UluRx’s experience, and you choose the tier at checkout.)
Who prescribes and makes it: a board-certified dermatologist licensed in your state prescribes after an online questionnaire; Curexa or Chemistry Rx compounds.
Commitment and refunds: monthly subscription shipping every 25–27 days; you must cancel at least 3 days before billing, and orders already processing can’t be cancelled. The “6-month guarantee” refunds only your most recent month’s supply, product returned in original packaging.
Bottom line: the strongest fixed-menu option. The recurring complaints in BBB and Trustpilot reviews are about cancellation friction and promo pricing, not the product. If you want a set formula and a dermatologist on the other end of a message box, it’s a good choice.
How does Musely compare for women over 45?
Musely is the price leader for a compounded oral: its Bloom pill (minoxidil 1 mg + dutasteride 0.4 mg) is prescribed to women over 45 for $32 a month. It’s also the only competitor with a first-order 100% guarantee, though it comes with conditions.
Best for: women who want a once-a-day pill, not a topical, at the lowest price, and will use the app check-ins.
Price: $32/mo for the pill or $33/mo for the Classic topical, billed as a 3-month supply, plus a $20 doctor-visit fee. Changing your prescription later costs a $10 doctor fee.
Formula: Bloom is minoxidil 1 mg + dutasteride 0.4 mg (women over 45); Sprout swaps dutasteride for spironolactone for women under 45. The Classic topical is minoxidil 8% + dutasteride 0.3% + tretinoin 0.01% + spironolactone 0.075% + ketoconazole 2% — with the note that “some ingredients may not be included in your individual prescription.”
Who prescribes and makes it: board-certified doctors review an online questionnaire within 24 hours; Musely’s own compounding pharmacies in Utah and Georgia fill. Follow-up during the first 60 days is an automated “eNurse” bot, which Musely states is not a medical professional.
Commitment and refunds: billed as a 3-month supply. 100% refund of the first order if you use it for 60 days and complete the eNurse check-ups; refills and prescription changes are excluded, and prescription products otherwise can’t be returned.
Bottom line: the best value on this page if a fixed oral formula suits you and you don’t need a human after day 60. Oral minoxidil and dutasteride are systemic drugs with real side-effect profiles, so the questionnaire matters — read it carefully.
How does Ro compare for women over 45?
Ro sells exactly two women’s hair products: generic oral minoxidil at $30/mo and a compounded topical at $40/mo. It’s the least age-specific of the five — nothing on Ro’s women’s product pages mentions menopause or age 45+ — and it publishes neither the oral dose nor the topical strengths.
Best for: women who specifically want low-dose oral minoxidil from a big, LegitScript-certified telehealth company at the lowest price.
Price: $30/mo oral, $40/mo topical, quarterly prepay. No first-month promos.
Formula: oral minoxidil (dose not stated on ro.co); Hair Solution Rx topical is minoxidil + tretinoin + melatonin, strengths not disclosed. No finasteride, dutasteride, or spironolactone option for women.
Who prescribes and makes it: a Ro-affiliated provider after an online visit; Roman Health Pharmacy or an unnamed partner fills. Unlimited follow-up messaging is included.
Commitment and refunds: quarterly prepaid subscription. “All sales are final.” No refunds on prescription products.
Bottom line: fine if you and your doctor have already decided oral minoxidil is the plan and you want it cheap. Not a fit if you want a post-menopause anti-androgen, a disclosed formula, or the option to buy one bottle without a subscription.
How does UluRx compare — and why does it cost more?
UluRx is the only company on this list that is the pharmacy. There’s no partner filling the prescription: the formula is compounded at UluRx’s LegitScript-certified pharmacy in Phoenix by its own licensed pharmacists, after a U.S.-licensed physician reviews your questionnaire. That structure is why it costs more, and it’s also why it can do things the others can’t.
Best for: women 45 and over who have already tried minoxidil, Nutrafol, Hers, or Keeps and didn’t get enough back — especially thinning tied to perimenopause and menopause.
Price: $99.99 per bottle for the base prescription serum, which does not contain latanoprost. Adding latanoprost is what moves the price: $199.99 for the Hair Bomb at 0.05%, $299.99 for the Hair Bomb at 0.10%. Physician review is included — “your prescription is included in the price, no separate doctor visit needed” — and shipping is free over $25.
Formula: every tier is built per patient from minoxidil, finasteride, tretinoin, and other prescription actives, dosed for your pattern of loss and stage of life. Ketoconazole is deliberately not in the growth serum — UluRx compounds it as a separate scalp serum so it can be used at its own frequency, set by your needs. Every formula is compounded in one of three bases — dry, oily, or normal scalp — chosen from your questionnaire; mostly distilled water, only enough alcohol to dissolve the minoxidil, no fragrance or dyes. The $99.99 serum has no latanoprost; the Hair Bomb adds latanoprost at 0.05% or 0.10%. Finasteride is used only for women who are past childbearing.
Who prescribes and makes it: a U.S.-licensed physician reviews every order; pharmacists James Fox, Gary Friedman, and Ray Rabadi compound it. You can text CONSULT to (602) 315-1530 and reach a person, not a bot.
Commitment and guarantee: none required. You can buy one bottle; subscribing is optional. If the formula you receive doesn’t match the preferences you wrote on your questionnaire — you asked for minoxidil, say, and it isn’t in the bottle — UluRx reformulates it free within 30 days. The questionnaire asks what you do and don’t want in your formula; those are preferences, not a recipe, and the prescribing physician has final approval. That is a guarantee on the pharmacy’s work, not on your hair: no company on this list can promise regrowth, because nobody can tell from a questionnaire whether a follicle is still alive.
Where UluRx falls short — honestly: the latanoprost tiers cost more per mL than anything else on this list — $3.33 and $5.00 against a field that tops out around $2.38 — and while the base serum is priced in line with Happy Head and Musely per mL, its $99.99 bottle is still the biggest single number a first-time buyer sees. There’s no app; you text a person. It’s a small pharmacy, so you won’t find 2,000 Trustpilot reviews — there are 30 Google reviews at 4.9 stars. There is no oral product; UluRx is topical only. And latanoprost has a smaller evidence base for scalp use than minoxidil does; the largest women-specific trial so far is a 2026 pilot. If plain minoxidil is going to work for you, you don’t need UluRx.
So what are you paying for? A pharmacist making your bottle instead of pulling one off a shelf; a doctor reading your history instead of a menu routing you by age; a higher-concentration latanoprost base nobody else on this list offers; and no subscription holding you to it. Every reformulation at UluRx means paying a physician and a pharmacist again, which is why the guarantee is written narrowly and honored exactly — for a woman who has already spent two years and several hundred dollars on bottles that were never built for her, that’s the difference.
How we evaluated these companies
We compared the five companies most often recommended to women over 45 for prescription hair growth, on the things that change the outcome: whether a post-menopause anti-androgen is available, whether strengths are disclosed, who prescribes, who compounds, whether the formula can be changed for an individual, and what you’re committing to when you buy. Every price and ingredient above was checked on the company’s own pricing, product, help-center, or terms page on September 7, 2026; where a company doesn’t publish a strength, we said so rather than quoting a third party. Complaint patterns come from public BBB and Trustpilot records. UluRx wrote this page, so read our own row with that in mind — and note that we’ve said who each competitor is right for.
How to choose
If you’ve never tried prescription minoxidil (or want the Keeps/Hims/Nutrafol version of this page, it’s here): start with Hers or Ro; it’s the cheapest experiment, as long as you’re comfortable prepaying. If you’re 50+ and want a strong fixed topical with a dermatologist to message: Happy Head. If you’d rather take a pill and you’re comfortable with an app doing your follow-up: Musely. If you’ve done one or more of those and it wasn’t enough, and you want a pharmacist to build the next formula for you without signing up for six months of it: UluRx.
If Hers specifically is what didn’t work for you, the longer list — including BosleyRx, Strut, Nutrafol, and Rogaine — is in Hers Alternatives for Women Over 50.
Frequently asked questions
Can I use UluRx if I’ve already tried Hers or Happy Head?
Yes — most UluRx patients come after a mass-market product didn’t give them enough. Tell us what you used and for how long in the hair quiz and questionnaire; it changes what the pharmacist builds.
Do I have to subscribe or commit to 3–6 months with UluRx?
No. Every UluRx hair formula can be bought as a single bottle. Subscribing is optional and can be turned off. Of the five companies here, Hers, Musely, and Ro advertise prices that require prepaying 3–6 months, and Happy Head bills monthly with a 3-day cancellation window.
Does UluRx guarantee results?
No, and neither does anyone else — a questionnaire can’t tell whether a follicle is still alive, and hair regrowth depends on the individual. What UluRx guarantees is its own work. If the formula you receive doesn’t match the preferences you wrote on your questionnaire — you asked for minoxidil, say, and it isn’t in the bottle — UluRx reformulates it free within 30 days. The questionnaire asks what you do and don’t want in your formula; those are preferences, not a recipe, and the prescribing physician has final approval.
Is finasteride safe for women over 45?
Topical and oral finasteride are prescribed off-label to postmenopausal women; they’re avoided in women who could become pregnant because of birth-defect risk. That’s why Happy Head tags its finasteride products “Women 50+,” Musely routes women over 45 to dutasteride, and UluRx only adds finasteride for women past childbearing. A physician makes that call on your case.
Why does UluRx use latanoprost when everyone else leads with minoxidil?
Latanoprost works on a different follicle pathway than minoxidil — it lengthens the growth (anagen) phase rather than widening blood supply — which is why it’s used for women who plateaued on minoxidil, and why it matters after 45: the anagen phase is what shortens as we age. Dose matters. The 0.005% in eye drops was developed to grow eyelashes, and the scalp studies that showed an effect used far more: the first placebo-controlled trial (Blume-Peytavi, JAAD 2012) used 0.1% and increased hair density at 24 weeks, and a 2026 randomized pilot in women tested 0.01%, 0.05%, and 0.1% and measured hair-count gains at each. That pilot enrolled 29 women, so it wasn’t large enough to rank the doses against each other. UluRx offers 0.05% and 0.10% and you choose at checkout (Happy Head’s latanoprost formula is 0.005%, the eye-drop concentration); in UluRx’s experience the 0.10% tier tends to show change sooner, and either tier is paired with minoxidil rather than replacing it. The evidence base is real but young; anyone telling you it’s settled is selling.
What does “compounded” mean, and is it FDA-approved?
A compounded prescription is made for an individual patient by a licensed pharmacy from FDA-approved ingredients, usually at strengths or in combinations no manufactured product offers. The finished compound itself is not FDA-approved — that’s true of UluRx, Hers Hair Blends, Happy Head, Musely, and Ro Hair Solution Rx alike. What differs is who makes it and whether they’ll tell you what’s in it.
How long before I see anything?
Every company on this list says the same thing, because it’s the biology: 3 to 4 months for early changes, 6 to 12 for the result you’d photograph, and the hair goes back to its prior pattern if you stop. Anyone promising faster is selling something.
What base is my hair formula compounded in?
Your questionnaire asks whether your scalp is dry, oily, or normal, and the pharmacist compounds your formula in the matching base: mostly distilled water, with only enough alcohol to dissolve the minoxidil (least in the dry-scalp base) and the emollients adjusted so the base regulates moisture on your scalp instead of stripping it. No fragrance, no dyes.